);

Google to Secure Social Media Data with Auto-Delete on Location History

Google to Secure Social Media Data with Auto-Delete on Location History

In today’s social media news, you can now secure social media data without needed reminders.

It’s been a while since Google promised to secure users data. Back in May, they announced the auto-delete controls for their users’ location history. They said that it will be available in the next few months, either on their iOS or Android devices.

As of now, June 27, this feature is now rolling out the said feature.

What’s in it for users?

Having the feature means that they can no longer have access to your data on your chosen timeframe. This will drop the chances of a data breach or related cases.

As posted on Google’s blog. Here is what it’s all about:

You can already use your Google Account to access simple on/off controls for Location History and Web & App Activity, and if you choose—to delete all or part of that data manually. In addition to these options, we’re announcing auto-delete controls that make it even easier to manage your data.

Here’s how they’ll work: Choose a time limit for how long you want your activity data to be saved—3 or 18 months—and any data older than that will be automatically deleted from your account on an ongoing basis. These controls are coming first to Location History and Web & App Activity and will roll out in the coming weeks.

Google

How to Auto-delete your Google Location History?

  • On your device, visit your Google Account. Go to the My Activity Section
  • Click the new “choose to delete automatically” option in the Location History.
  • On the next screen, choose which time frame you prefer– either to delete your data after 3 or 18 months.
  • Go to the My Activity Section
  • Click the new “choose to delete automatically” option in the Location History.
  • On the next screen, choose which time frame you prefer– either to delete your data after 3 or 18 months.

Is there an Auto-delete Feature on other Types of Data?

For now, Google can only launch this functionality on the Location History section. You’ll still need to clear the data manually when it comes to other types. These include:

  • Web & App Activity
  • Device Information
  • Voice & Audio Activity
  • YouTube Search History
  • YouTube Watch History.

You can also stop Google from gathering any data at all. This is the easiest route, as you no longer need to deal with all these configurations.

Auto-Delete Feature is a great step to fully Secure Social Media Data

This update shows that online service providers are making way to secure social media app’s data.

With this, we should also be responsible for our own data. To make our own steps on ensuring no one gets any of your sensitive data.

How to do so? You may start with creating stronger passwords:

When creating your Password, consider the following:
  • Passwords should be at least 12 characters.
  • Avoid obvious personal details, such as birthdays, phone numbers, etc.
  • Use different passwords on different sites. You can use a password manager to ensure you won’t forget.
  • Check password-testing websites.
  • Don’t use common substitutions.
  • Update your password as much as possible.

And that’s about it for today’s phone message board update. What are your thoughts on this new feature? Link this up on your social media accounts have a secure social media experience.

Julcee Arendaying